Research in North Carolina - Southeastern

Biopharmaceutical research companies are conducting or have conducted nearly 500 clinical trials of new medicines in Southeastern North Carolina since 1999 in collaboration with clinical research centers and hospitals. Southeastern North Carolina consists of nine counties, including: Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, Cumberland, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender, Robeson and Sampson.

Of the nearly 500 clinical trials, 203 have targeted the nation’s six most debilitating chronic diseases—asthma, cancer, diabetes, heart disease, mental illness and stroke.

Download PDF